Thanksgiving At My House

We go all out for Thanksgiving regardless of whether we have 7 or 17 people.  Here are a few of my favorite things that I make year after year.  I should also mention that I always cook my turkey upside down to ensure that the breasts are very juicy.  I flip it about 3/4 of the way through cooking.  And if your turkey is done early, which mine almost always is, you can place it on your cutting board, cover it with foil and several beach towels.  This will keep it very hot without cooking it.  Happy holidays!

I am also posting a link HERE to my Hostess Helper.  I use this for every event I host at home.  I usually fill it in in the morning and shift things around as I complete things early or change my schedule.  It is an essential cooking item in my house.  hostess-helper

Appetizers

We always serve these meatballs and potato pancakes but we also make an easy crescent roll wrapped brie with apricot or raspberry preserves as well as a crudite.

Judy’s Swedish Meatballsswedishmeatballs

Potato Pancakes with Homemade Applesauce

homemadeapplesauce

potato-pancake

Sides

There are usually too many sides to go along with the turkey but these are some of our favorites.

Elinor’s Noodle Kugelnoodlekugel

Brussels Sprouts Slawbrussels-sprout-slaw-with-mustard-dressing-and-maple

Roasted Vegetables – I add as many vegetables as I can to this recipe from Gwyneth Paltrow – http://www.food.com/recipe/maple-dijon-roasted-winter-vegetables-454651

 Popovers – The kids love these – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/popovers-recipe.html

Gluten Free Cornbread Stuffing – This is the GF recipe I am into these days.  It is perfect for a cornbread base for stuffing. – http://minimalistbaker.com/the-best-vegan-gluten-free-cornbread/

Dessert

I always have way to many desserts but it is the best part of dinner

Easiest Flourless Chocolate Cake –  flourless-chocolate-cake

Pecan Pie Barspecan-pie-bars

The Only Cheesecake Recipe You Will Ever Need – I don’t use the lemon and I ditch the crust so it can be gluten free – http://vernasrecipes.norseaodyssey.com/Desserts/Cakes/Cheesecakes/Cordon_Rose_Cream__Cheesecake/cordon_rose_cream__cheesecake.htm

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cookies – These literally get devoured no matter how full everyone is.  I use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and I add 1 tsp of vanilla. – http://allrecipes.com/recipe/9998/flourless-peanut-butter-cookies/

Leave a Reply

